Pinkie and Ida

I have thoroughly enjoyed the tussle between these 2 characters who seem to have parallel existences in the plot. I don’t think they ever really know much about each other – and considering how important they are to each other this seems odd.

Pinkie’s spiral has elements of black humour in it – and I was tickled by the way he kept speculating about the ‘massacre’ he would need to keep his original murder quiet – if it was a murder… He just seems to keep digging does poor old Pinkie – while his nemesis Mr Colleoni seems to float along quite at ease, I half expected a showdown between them, but the innocence of Pinkie’s character prevents him ever being able to conduct himself as a real – self-actualised mobster after Kite’s demise.

I visualized Ida as a kind of Pam Ferris character. Her dogged nature and apparent fearlessness seem reminiscent of many of Pam’s characters. Her relationship with Phil Corkery was odd. What sort of a man was he? I guess he was just someone to boss around. He seemed a weak link in the characters, unless I’ve missed something. She seemed an innocent sort as well. 

I felt that there were a lot of innocents in this story, despite all of the violence and cruelty, even the baffled policeman at the end – who was described as a ‘stranger at a party’; but still a good aim with a truncheon, thankfully.

Jon

6 thoughts on “Pinkie and Ida

  1. I haven,t yet finished Brighton Rock. I took a while to get into the book as 1930,s gang warfare isn’t,t really my thing. I do like the interaction between the characters and the intricate, somewhat bizarre descriptions of backgrounds and scenes; as on p64, “Young men kept arriving…..”.The latter did start to get on my nerves as the book progressed; found it somewhat distracting.
    It is interesting that the Roman Catholic versus atheist thread runs strongly through the book. Pinkie and the gullible Rose (baddies) are Catholic, whilst the good Ida is a non believer. Pinkie doesn’t,t indulge in bad habits, except killing and maiming people, of course, whilst the non Catholics smoke, drink and gamble. Does this say something about the author,s confused beliefs?
    I agree Jon, I see Ida as a Pam Ferris character, but with a bit of Diana Dors thrown in for earthiness and sex appeal.

    Gillx

  2. Hi,
    I like the idea of Diana Dors thrown in!
    I am a quarter of the way through the book and if it wasn’t for Ida’s character I would be tiring of the book.
    I love her sense of strong moral logic and the fact she won’t compromise her beliefs for the sake of the people around her.
    I am intrigued to find out how and if she manages to find justice and solve the crimes that are happening in Brighton.

    Julie (blogging from sunny Yorkshire!)

    • Hi Julie, I thought you were too young to remember Diana Dors!

      I, too, am taking a while to get to the end but will eventually. Graham green is very scathing about the working classes, isn’t he? Must be a public school boy. Have you noticed all the references to mouths and lips? What,s that all about.

      Gillx

  3. Hi Gill,
    Flattery will get you everywhere ;), I think Diana Dors is one of those icons all generations know about.
    Yes there are a lot of lip mentions, think that’s a sex implication.
    Julie. ( still blogging from Yorkshire)

Leave a Reply

