A spot of bother by Mark Haddon

Hi, I,ve been waiting for someone to comment on the above book so that I could reply but have waited in vain! Hope I,m doing this right.

I enjoyed the book; enjoyed the author,s style of short chapters.He portrays typical (disfunctional) family life, well. I liked George, the main character and felt sucked in to his story immediately.The spiral into depression, after his retirement, is portrayed well. He finds it more difficult to deal with family problem, becomes paranoid about his health and withdraws into his own world. I think the author has researched depression well.

The adult children have their own dramas but this doesn,t detract from the main storyline of George,s journey. All the threads are cleverly woven together at the end of this sad but comical book.

Gillx

One thought on “A spot of bother by Mark Haddon

  1. Hi Gill

    Thanks for the post – did the book remind you of Harold Fry’s pilgrimage? – I kept hearing the voice of Joyce.
    Although I think that Rachel is less of a writer – but I feel that the topics discussed in the book – make it a bit sit-comy which tires after a while.

Leave a Reply

